Selection Information

The American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers (AAML)

The American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers was founded in 1962, by highly regarded domestic relations attorneys “To provide leadership that promotes the highest degree of professionalism and excellence in the practice of family law.” The Academy Fellows are highly skilled negotiators and litigators who represent individuals in all facets of family law. Membership is based on a rigorous set of requirements which can be found in the Fellowship Admissions Standards link:

American Bar Foundation Fellows

The American Bar Foundation is dedicated to advancing justice through research on the law, legal practices, and the law’s impact on society.  The Fellows organization consists of attorneys, judges, and legal scholars whose careers demonstrate dedication to the legal profession and their communities. Membership is by election of a state chapter and is limited to one-third of one percent of the bar membership in each state.

American College of Bankruptcy

The American College of Bankruptcy recognizes distinguished bankruptcy professionals in an effort to set standards of achievement for others in the insolvency community and to fund and assist projects in that practice area.  Membership is by invitation of the Board of Regents from recommendations of a Circuit Admissions Council in each federal judicial circuit.

American Inns of Court

The American Inns of Court is a national organization designed to improve the skills, professionalism, and ethics of the bench and bar.  Each local chapter is composed of judges and lawyers, and membership is by invitation of the chapter.

Best Divorce Lawyers in Kansas City

The Best Divorce Lawyers in Kansas City's goal is to connect people with the best local experts. They score Kansas City Divorce Lawyers on more than 25 variables across five categories, and analyse the results to give the public a hand-picked list of the best. Their selection criteria includes: (1) Reputation; (2) Credibility; (3) Experience; (4) Availability; and (5) Professionalism.

Best Lawyers in America

Best Lawyers is a publication that compiles anonymous peer-review ratings and publishes an annual referral guide, the Best Lawyers in America.

Best of the Bar

The Kansas City Business Journal publishes its Best of the Bar selections each year to recognize outstanding lawyers in the Kansas City metropolitan area as chosen by their peers.

Collection Advisor Magazine

Collection Advisor Magazine presents the “Top Attorneys in Collections”. These attorneys have been nominated by their peers for efforts to improve collections through legal collections, creditor defense and legal consultation. Collection Advisor is a national publication for Collections and Technology Professionals.

Dean of The Trial Bar

Dean of The Trial Bar is one of the Kansas City Metropolitan Bar Association's top honor designations, and is awarded annually to individuals whose litigation skills and professional demeanor have resulted in consistent recognition by their peers as exemplary.


Expertise is an national organization that compiles information and selects professionals on the following criteria: reputation, credibility, experience, engagement, and professionalism.

Fellows of the American Bar Foundation

The Fellows comprise a global honorary society of attorneys, judges, law faculty, and legal scholars whose public and private careers have demonstrated outstanding dedication to the highest principles of the legal profession and to the welfare of their communities. Membership in the Fellows is limited to one percent of lawyers licensed to practice in each jurisdiction. Fellows are recommended by their peers and elected by the Board of the American Bar Foundation.

International Academy of Family Lawyers (IAFL) 

The International Academy of Family Lawyers is a worldwide association of practicing lawyers who are recognized by their peers as the most experienced and skilled family law specialists in their respective countries. IAFL was formed in 1986, and membership is by invitation only.

Litigation Counsel of America Fellows

The Litigation Counsel of America is a trial lawyer honor society. Membership is by invitation of the LCA and is composed of less than one-half of one percent of American lawyers.  Fellows are selected based on excellence and accomplishment in litigation at the trial and appellate levels and on superior ethical reputation.

Martindale-Hubble AV® Preeminent™

Martindale-Hubbell is the facilitator of a peer-review rating process.  Ratings reflect the anonymous opinions of members of the bar and the judiciary with regard to legal ability and general ethical standards.  The AV® Preeminent™ rating requires a result of 5.0 out of 5.0 for both standards.

Martindale-Hubbell Bar Register of Preeminent Women Lawyers

The Martindale-Hubbell Bar Register of Preeminent Women Lawyers is exclusive to women lawyers who have achieved the Highest Possible Rating in both Legal Ability and Ethical Standards: AV® Preeminent™.

Missouri Lawyers Media

The Missouri Lawyers Media covers legal news, court opinions, verdicts and settlements, foreclosures, and public notices in Missouri.  The Missouri Lawyers Awards recognize lawyers who made an impact in the year just completed, including the winners of the top verdicts, influential appellate advocates and champions, law firm leaders and the Lawyer of the Year.

National Board of Trial Advocacy - Civil Trial Advocate - Board Certified

Board certification is a rigorous testing and approval process that officially recognizes the extensive education and courtroom experience of attorneys.

Super Lawyers

Super Lawyers magazine names attorneys in each state who receive the highest point totals in a process that combines peer recognition and independent research to select those with high peer recognition and ethical standards and who have demonstrated some degree of achievement in their fields.